This qualification, which replaces the Level 4 NVQ in Leadership and Management for Care Services and the City and Guilds RQF Level 4 NVQ in Health and Social care, is for people who work in the health and social care sector either as managers of the provision or as senior practitioners including assistants and deputy managers.

You must be working in a Care setting to study this course or be setting up a Care company. This can be used towards your CQC application. 

This is recognised by regulatory bodies such as the CQC as a requirement for anyone looking to take on a Registered Manager position.

There are 6 available pathways for this Qualification:

England/Northern Ireland:-

4350_51 England Residential Child Care

4978_52 England Children’s Management

4978_53 England Children Advanced Practice

4978_54 England Adults Residential Management

4978_55 England Adults Management

4978_56 England Adults Advanced Practice

This qualification allows you to develop your managerial and care skills and is therefore ideal for those looking to become managers of Children and Young People’s residential and domiciliary services or to be an advanced practicioner.
This includes the following services:

  • Residential homes and services for children and young people with disabilities including learning disabilities,
  • Residential child care,
  • Adoption and Foster care services
  • Youth justice and education settings
  • Day services
  • Respite care and services
  • Community care services

If you work in one of the following job roles this qualification would be suitable for you:-

  • Registered Manager
  • Care Manager/Social Worker
  • Manager
  • Assistant or Deputy Manager
  • Senior Care worker or supervisor
  • Nursing staff
  • Support worker or supervisor
  • Team Leader
  • Co-ordinator

Diploma Course Structure

This qualification provides you with guidance and assesses your knowledge, understanding and skills in leadership and management within the health and social care sector. It meets the required regulatory requirements for this sector and can demonstrate continuing professional development.

To gain this qualification you will have a range of mandatory and some optional units to choose from to complete this award


This is a competency based qualification and evidence is gathered by the candidate as they undertake their normal work role. This will form the basis for their portfolio. The evidence must reflect policies and procedures of the work place as stated by current government legislation.

During the course of the qualification the candidate must work with at least two service users.

A range of assessment methods will be used by the assessor including examining work products and expert witness testimonies and direct observation. An assessor will visit you in the workplace at some point and undertake observations of you at work. These will be planned in advance in order to cause the minimum disruption to your work routine and to try to capture as much information as possible in one visit.

Knowledge based units will be assessed using a range of methods including reflective accounts, projects, assignments, assessor questions and professional discussions.

Candidates will have full access to assessor support via telephone, email, Skype and web links.


This qualification is usually completed within 12 months.


England you can enrol at anytime.

Entry requirements

There is no set entry requirement for this qualification. However, the qualification is only available to candidates 19 years and older.

What is RQF?

The Qualifications and Credit Framework (RCF Regulated Qualification Framework) is the way of recognising achievement through the awarding of credits for qualifications and individual units and applies to England, Wales and Northern Ireland.
It aims to provide a more flexible route to gaining qualifications and enables progression to be achieved in smaller steps through the accumulation of credit.

CQC Requirements

The Level 5 Diploma in Leadership for Health and Social Care is recognised as a professional Management qualification for the health and social care sector.

Memberships (Upon application)

  • Institute of Leadership and Management
  • Chartered Management Institute
  • Social Care Association
  • Royal College of Nursing